Prof. Stefan Vogenauer, M.Jur. (Oxford)
Stefan Vogenauer

Phone: +49 69 789 78-100
Fax: +49 69 789 78-211
Dr. Sigfrido Ramírez Pérez
Sigfrido Ramírez Pérez

Phone: +49 (69) 789 78 - 294


Annual Conference

14765 1556028677

Annual Conference: The Contribution of the Legal Services of the European Institutions to European Union Law

  • Start: Jun 18, 2019 09:30
  • End: Jun 19, 2019 16:00
  • Organisation: Stefan Vogenauer, Sigfrido Ramirez Perez
  • Location: MPIeR
  • Room: Z01

While the most recent research on the legal history of the European Union has established that the European Court of Justice (ECJ) has played a critical role in the functioning of European institutions, other legal actors have also played important roles, exerting a decisive influence on the ECJ and on legislators. This, for instance, was the case with the legal services of institutions such as the Commission, the Council of Ministers and the European Parliament, decisively influencing the negotiation of various European treaties and the resolution of legal controversies – especially concerning institutional competencies, which was ultimately resolved through bilateral meetings between these legal services, and by the ECJ.

Hosted at the Max Planck Institute for European Legal History (Frankfurt am Main), this conference will bring together scholars and former members of these institutions' legal services. They will present the historical trajectories of the legal services via key figures, the doctrinal developments achieved by each institution, and their cooperation with academics and legal practitioners. Contributions will reflect on how each of these legal services has influenced the general development of EU law as a constitutional practice, their implications for the process of European integration and its institutional evolution.

Guests are welcome to register for the event to take place at Frankfurt am Main, Campus Westend, on 18 and 19 June 2019. There is no conference fee.

Picture: Photograph of the original of the Treaty concerning the accession to the European Communities of Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom, signed in Brussels on 22 January 1972, © ECSC-EEC-EAEC, Brussels - Luxembourg, 1981

loading content
Go to Editor View